Using my Art Journal for Rough Drafts

Using my Art Journal for Rough Drafts

This is a rough draft of a larger painting that I’m starting. Someone once told me that you will have to draw a face a thousand times before you get it right. I have a long way to go…I’m not happy with the hair, the lips, the nose… but the beauty of an art journal is that it’s not an item I am making to be sold. Its a place where I can practice and experiment. All the stress of making a huge project that people will judge is gone when working in an art journal. If I really hate it, I can tear the page out. Another trick is to glue the pages together like you were just making a stronger page for your work. The best thing to do is keep your imperfect art. You can look at it to see what works and what fails. Its also fun to look back on old projects and see how far your skills have progressed.

Leave a Reply

