Wax Shrines

Wax Shrines

After reading an article in this month’s ClothScissorsPaper by Linda Lenart Mcnulty, I decided to give encaustics a shot. I am not one to play with wax…I love the texture and the look, but I am way too lazy for the cleanup. When a friend gave me these shield bezels I didn’t really know what to do with them, but turned upside down I saw that they make awesome looking shrines. Linda uses text and paper in her shrines, an I’m thinking of adding some vintage stamps to mine. Tonight I’ll be experimenting with resin to see if I can layer it over the wax to preserve it. I hope it works!

Leave a Reply

